Most biblical scholars today accept that the Torah is a composite text assembled by an editor in the Exilic or early post-Exilic period (sixth-fifth centuries B.C.) out of four documents: J (the Yahwistic source), E (the Elohistic source), P (the Priestly source) and D (the Deuteronomic source). For a recent synthesis, see Richard E. Friedman, Who Wrote the Bible? (New York: Simon and Schuster, 1987).