In the late 19th century, Great Britain took over control of Cyprus from the Ottoman Empire, which had ruled the island since 1571. In 1960 the island became an independent republic, despite growing tensions between the resident Greek and Turkish communities. In 1974, the Turks invaded Cyprus and seized the northern third of the island, including Salamis. Cyprus has since been divided into the Turkish-occupied north—which is not officially recognized by any nation other than Turkey—and the Greek-speaking south.