The original members of the committee were Roland de Vaux, who served as chairman until his death in 1971, Frank Moore Cross, John Strugnell, Patrick Skehan, Jean Starcky, Claus Hunzinger, John Allegro and J. T. Milik. The international committee thus included scholars from the United States, France, Great Britain, Germany and Poland. Aside from the committee, Maurice Baillet of Erance was assigned Cave 11 materials.