The apocrypha are those books which are part of the Hellenistic Jewish canon (represented by the Septuagint), but not part of the Palestinian canon (represented by the Masoretic text). Catholic Bibles include these books while Jewish and Protestant texts do not. These works date from the Greco-Roman period and were composed in Hebrew or Greek.