At least by the early rabbinic period (second century C.E.), wine made or bottled by Gentiles was forbidden to strictly observant Jews. So severe was the interdiction against the drinking of non-Jewish wine that even wine in a container accidentally touched by a Gentile was prohibited. There were several exceptions, however, such as boiled wine and certain wines with honey or spices. Perhaps the rich, sweet passum was also excepted.