According to the documentary hypothesis, the first five books of the Bible (the Torah or Pentateuch) consist of at least four discrete textual strands, labeled with the letters J, E, P, D. In strand J, God is referred to as “Yahweh” (or “Jahweh” in German), while in E, God is referred to as “Elohim.” P, which stands for Priestly Code, makes up much of Leviticus, and D, or Deuteronomist, largely consists of the Book of Deuteronomy.