The Talmud (tahl-Mood) is a collection of Jewish laws and teachings, comprising the Mishnah (a compilation of laws collected by Rabbi Judah the Prince about 200 C.E.) and the Gemara (a commentary on the Mishnah). There are two Talmuds. The Palestinian Talmud was completed in the mid-fifth century; the Babylonian Talmud, completed in the mid-sixth century, became authoritative.